The Lion’s Roar

When our baby boy was born, we were elated. I’ll never forget his piercing cries echoing in the somewhat empty delivery room – the sounds of my baby boy’s wailings, spinning around my head like a helicopter. The nurses taking him to the side to clean him up and wrap him in swaddling clothes. (I liken their work to that of the pit-crew at NASCAR.) Then – they presented our beautiful baby boy to us. Wow! What a sight! I couldn’t believe it!

But all was not well. He was a month premature and very frail. He immediately went into the NICU at Baptist hospital in Nashville, Tennessee. In the NICU, he was enclosed in an incubator and we were allowed to touch him only through the holes in the glass. He would occasionally forget to breath. The nurses would casually walk over and nudge him and he would once again commence to breathing. A very frightening sight for a new mom and dad.

Our lil’ guy would be in the NICU for two weeks. (Not a long time in comparison to some – but still emotionally draining all the same.) The long rides from Gallatin to downtown Nashville were a bit draining. The entire day at work was one of continually thinking, “I need to leave this place and get to that place to see my baby!” I could smell his scent on my clothing when we left him at night. It was very difficult and emotionally draining.

I’ll never forget the first night Brandy and I left the hospital to go home. We had stayed up to the last possible moment that our insurance would allow (after all, that is where our baby was). Brandy slid bravely into a wheelchair and looked straight ahead as the nurse pushed her along. We turned the corner and passed the NICU. Brandy turned and looked at the locked door of the NICU longingly as we passed by. Very strong, very strong indeed. The nurse rounded the bend and guided the wheelchair around a series of bends and then down a long narrow hall way, only to turn one more corner, and then, out of the hospital and into the parking garage.

The nurse was very kind and helped Brandy into the car. We were all very silent the entire time, (Brandy, the nurse, and I). I was amazed at Brandy’s strength through it all. After all, this is not the way a new mother ever expected it to be. You are supposed to leave with your baby – not leave your baby. I went around to the other side of the car and sat down in the driver’s seat. The nurse turned the wheelchair around and walked off and out of sight.

Then it came. Brandy, (my little five-foot-nothing wife), let out a cry – no! a roar!– like I’ve never heard before or since! She later said, “I didn’t know I had that in me!” The mother lioness was crying for her baby cub!

I’ve been thinking the past couple of days. How has the Lion of the Tribe of Judah (our Aslan) cried over his children? Too weak to breath on their own. Too frail to walk on their own. Disconnected from Him. How does He cry? Wail? ROAR? For us, His children.

I suspect, we would maybe say, “Wow! I didn’t know He had that in Him!”

Amos 3:8

“A lion has roared!

Who will not fear?

The Lord God has spoken!

Who can but prophesy?”

Leave a Reply

