When You Have No More Strength To Weep!

So David and his men came to the city, and there it was, burned with fire; and their wives, their sons, and their daughters had been taken captive. Then David and the people who were with him lifted up their voices and wept, until they had no more power to weep. And David’s two wives, Ahinoam the Jezreelitess, and Abigail the widow of Nabal the Carmelite, had been taken captive. Now David was greatly distressed, for the people spoke of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and his daughters. But David strengthened himself in the Lord his God. -I Samuel 30:3-6

The Bible tells us that David reached a point of utter exhaustion in the heat of an intense battle that brought to him great personal loss. His men were turning on him – hating him for his lack of leadership and especially the predicament they now found themselves in. David felt himself a million miles from God. The Bible says that he “wept until he had no more strength to weep.”

I’ve been there – in the hospital with our little boy,  at least, upon two different occasions. I’ve “cried my eyes out” as we say in our day. I’ve literally cried to where I had no more strength – no more tears to cry. I know the pain of passion. I know it’s misery. I know it’s death-grip on the heart. I’ve been frozen-still as doctors race to save my baby boy.   I’ve been there, trust me – I’ve been there.  Truth is, we still have battles ahead of us – but we are winning them all one-by-one.  Remember, It’s in those moments when you feel like throwing in the towel you must be even more determined to stay the course, for your victory is surely just around the bend!

For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. -2 Corinthians 4:11

Leave a Reply

