When You Have No Words To Say

The first time our “Lil’ Guy” went to the hospital by ambulance was during Sunday service. He was almost two years old and he had been sick – his Momma, his Papa, and his Nana were with him – preparing him to go to the doctor’s office. I was at church – preaching (something about communal faith and the “Transcendent Brotherhood”). I got in my car – checked my cell phone – had several messages – scary ones at that – muffled and gut-wrenching sobs on the other end of the phone. I got a hold of his Papa on the cell phone – as they were chasing behind the ambulance on the way to the hospital. I raced to get there. On the way I called several pastor friends and asked them to pray.

You may not believe in the gift of other tongues – you may disagree with the Pentecostal/ Charismatic doctrine on the issue of glossolalia – but this is our experience on that day. Brandy called 9-1-1 as her dad gave our Lil’ Guy breaths. If you could hear the 9-1-1 tapes – you would hear her in between her giving pertinent information to the operator – speaking in other tongues. And… as I was driving to the hospital (in between phone calls) I tried to pray logical/ intelligible sounding words – but all I could do was groan…groans that came from within the inner-depths of my being…

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God. -Romans 8:26-27

One response to this post.

  1. I should point out that our lil’ guy is five now. So the story related is in the past. The good news is, he’s outgrowing these episodes. Thank the Lord!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

