Depth and Joy

I find it telling that the church has come to believe that depth in spirituality and authentic human joy equals the quintessential oxymoron. It seems that the beckoning call of many is, “Come and dine at the table of new thoughts and new ideas, for it is a new age we live in.” The thought being, that, Christianity must be rethought, relived, reviewed and realigned with the post modern world in which we live – that is, if we are to reach them. We must “dress up” the antiquated doctrines of the past – we must abolish systematic theologies and migrate (yes, I said migrate) to the greener pastures (and yes, I mean “going green”) of uncertainty in our faith that we might be more sure of who we are. Emergent thought at it’s best. Joy unspeakable and full of glory is the person who sees Jesus as He really is – and He really is as we see Him. We create our own Jesus – a Jesus to our liking. True joy is found in a certain deception or folly in the mind of creativity and imagination, as we thus, create a “new and improved Jesus”. True joy is self-deception. That is the thinking of many Emergents today.

However, I would submit, that, true joy in salvation is a friend in Christ. True happiness is staked in the ground of biblical truth that has been passed on from generation to generation. True joy is found in belonging to a local body of believers who “do life together” – who live the faith life together. I find that my joy is complete in the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.
I can truly say, “Since I came to know Jesus, my life has never been the same since!” I mine the depths of the riches of the glory of His inspired Word – I strike gold – it’s a vein – and I follow to see where it will lead. My heart dances at His Word. My heart rejoices at His Presence. My spirit communes with his Spirit. All that said – I believe God would have us to rethink our rethinking – and return to biblical Christianity – where we quote Scripture more than some musical icon of America’s past.

Leave a Reply

